Masterpiece Youtube: “Her Morning Elegance,” Oren Lavie

Well hello there, normal-hour post. I’ve been awake since 8 and have already done cardio, jumped in the pool with all my clothes on, and had a nice chat with a fellow resident in the pool (I’m going to miss this place so much) and while in the shower, I thought of a fun new feature I could do.

YouTube is a magical place on the Interwebs. It started in February 2005 as a place to upload videos, but now it’s so much more, with video bloggers, old TV shows, pirated movies, and cats doing interesting things. I first became aware of YouTube in about 2006, and I’ve been watching it ever since. Most videos I watch just once, but occasionally, a video comes along that is so amazing that I bookmark it and go back to it, and if it goes down for whatever reason, I am very sad. So behold, a new feature/project/thingamajig….

That’s So Jacob presents: Masterpiece YouTube

Episode 1: “Her Morning Elegance,” Oren Lavie, 2009.

I was first shown this video by my friend Ofra when I moved to Israel in 2009. It’s an extremely well-choreographed stop-motion piece; closer to video-theatre than amateur film. The story, played out on a mattress, is of a beautiful red-headed woman who goes on an adventure. It includes walking down pillow stairs, riding a train and a bicycle, and playing under the sea with sock-fish. The story also includes Lavie himself, and the two make excellent shapes and dance together, all on a bed sheet and with objects found around the house. It is accompanied by a dream-like song sung by Lavie that I’d totally listen to all the time if I had it on my IPhone. Also, bonus points for coming from Israel.

The best parts of the video are 1) when she leaps across the pillows like she’s in Super Mario Bros., and 2) the dance sequence between her and the man, especially when he twirls her, which is nearly impossible to do while lying flat horizontally.

It was one of the first videos I’ve bookmarked on YouTube, and I go to it when I feel solemn, contemplative, need inspiration, need a pick-me-up, or need a shot of confidence. It reminds me of cool, misty Jerusalem mornings, when a cappuccino and a good book were all I needed to get me through, and all was right with the world.

I hope you enjoy the video.

This has been Masterpiece YouTube, Episode 1: “Her Morning Elegance,” Oren Lavie.

2 thoughts on “Masterpiece Youtube: “Her Morning Elegance,” Oren Lavie

  1. Pingback: Oren Lavie -The opposite side of the sea | WE BLOG !

  2. Pingback: Five Songs That Make Up a Happy Morning Playlist | That's So Jacob

Leave a Reply

