Having the Late Night Munchies

I have a serious case of the late night munchies.

I don’t really know when it started, and as much as I try to avoid it, it constantly returns. It’s there every night. Right now, I am feasting on challah and peach soda, wondering what has become of my life. Well, really, I’d be eating something way less nutritious were I not at my parents’ home. My mom loves candy and chocolate,  so it’s kind of odd that those things aren’t around. But then again, my parents survive on homemade soup and nothing, so there’s rarely ever any actual food in the house; hence, the challah and peach soda. Desperate times = desperate measures?

No, but seriously, I should find a way to stop this. Snacking at night can’t be good for your health. Well, my whole eating plan during these few weeks has been overall detrimental to my health, what with waking up around lunchtime, snacking, eating dinner…no wonder I’m hungry at night. Or maybe I’m making up for all the weight I lost due to stress in November/December. No, that can’t be it.

I heard this proverb one time, about eating like a king in the morning, a servant for lunch, and a pauper for dinner. It does promote a certain body image, I guess? Robust at the top and lean towards the bottom. There should be a proverb about that. Maybe I should write it and trademark it. Either way, a change of my eating habits is in order.

And since the challah is now decimated, and I just finished the end of the bottle of sugar, caffeine and sodium-free sparkling peach soda, now’s a good time to be comfortable with that thought.

Leave a Reply

