Santa Drives the Bus

Today, I was running late for class (as usual), but I managed to arrive at the bus stop just as the bus was pulling up.

I get on the bus, and as I’m fumbling in my wallet for my bus pass, I hear a voice saying “ya should’ve been prepared.”

I look up, and there’s a rotund man with glasses, long white hair, and a thick beard sitting in the driver’s seat. Wearing a Christmas sweater.

After a double-take, I finally find my card and swipe it, and we take off even though there are several people still waiting at the bus stop. There are several stops in between the stop where I got on the bus and the stop where I get off the bus. Even though the bus isn’t packed by any means, this guy stops for about 10 seconds at each stop before closing the doors, even if it means people have to wait for the next bus.

But otherwise, between stops, he flies. I am in shock. Normally, buses wait for everyone to get on/off, people to get situated, and occasionally stop for the wayward pedestrian. But on Santa’s bus this morning, no prisoners were taken.

Despite leaving my apartment at 9:41, I still manage to make it to class at 9:52, with three whole minutes to spare.

And the creepy thing? I got off the bus in the back, but before I had time to turn around and say thank you, the bus had pulled away. I didn’t even get a picture of the driver, but he looked an awful lot like this bus driver:

I am almost convinced that Santa Claus drove me to school today.

And that’s why I got there early.

One thought on “Santa Drives the Bus

Leave a Reply

