River Deep, Mountain Sigh

Oh frabjous day, calloo callay!

I actually finished a book today!

Granted, it was one that I’ve been reading since September, but I have read all the pages, whether it’s been between classes, in buses/planes/trains/automobiles, but it’s 245 pages of FINISHED. And what was that 245-page winner? River, Cross My Heart by Breena Clarke.

893946

Now, I know what you’re thinking. Yes, it is an Oprah book. However, the plot seemed to be interesting, I love the title, and it seemed rather light, which it was.

So, spoiler alert: Clara Bynum dies. It’s like in the first page and on the back cover. The rest of the book are usually-connected vignettes about the many adventures of Johnnie Mae Bynum and her Georgetown friends during the Roaring Twenties, around the time of the Harlem Renaissance. Other than that, not too much else happens. Johnnie Mae is good at swimming, and thinks that this awkward girl Pearl Miller is actually the reincarnation of her dead little sister. There are a lot of characters, and I think taking 4 months to read this one got me off track because I kept having to refer back to other chapters, and forgot some of the key components. There was something about herbal remedies/witchcraft, something about trouble in the South, something about Johnnie Mae’s mother giving up Thanksgiving to spend it working in some lady’s kitchen.

All in all, it was a pleasant read, and perfect if you want something light, fluffy, cottony, and banal. Perhaps you’ve just seen a scary movie or you need to get your mind off something; disappear into Breena Clarke’s Georgetown for a while. Plus, the cover on my edition is the one you see above, kinda spooky and attracts the eyes of interested passersby.

Also, the title has barely anything to do with the book; I feel like Breena Clarke could have done better. A decent writer, just needed a little bit more conflict.

6 thoughts on “River Deep, Mountain Sigh

  1. I read that book a few years ago – and it’s sitting on a desk in my office now. Don’t remember anything you just said. I guess I’ll have to read it again LOL.

Leave a Reply

