Radar Sweep Cleaning and Fruit Compote Potpourri

Even though I didn’t have any classes today, it still managed to be pretty full. Okay, so I slept for the majority of it, but after yesterday, I needed and deserved every minute of those ten hours. I spent the afternoon waking up, making something to eat, not going to the gym, or something, and then just attempting to figure out my life. While watching Jenna Marbles, eating my breakfast, and folding towels, I was looking around at the current state of my apartment. Spoiler alert: it’s sad.

And then it just kind of came to me.

Radar. Sweep. Cleaning.

you will like this post…you will comment on this post…you will follow That’s So Jacob…you will tell all your friends…you will enjoy bananas…

 

I realized that when I attempt to clean and stuff, I just do a general clean-all-the-things, and end up getting mostly nothing done. My apartment is essentially a box with four quadrants: living room, bedroom, bathroom/front hallway, and living room. So, standing in the center of my apartment, I decided to pick one quadrant – just one – and tell myself that before the day is out, that quadrant will be the cleanest thing in my apartment. Then, the next day, repeat, and so on. By random draw (read: what I thought would be the easiest) I decided to start with the living room. By the rules of ballroom dance, it goes counter-clockwise, so tomorrow is the kitchen’s turn.

The rules of Radar Sweep Cleaning: get the stuff out of the space. It doesn’t matter if it ends up elsewhere for now, but get it out. It can be in the bathroom or on the bedroom floor or whatever, but out of the space. The idea is that eventually, when I get around to cleaning the part of the apartment where said deposited object is, I will move it to a better spot if need be. This might result in things just making giant circuits around my apartment, but hey, whatever works, right?

But anyway, today. This afternoon, I decided to make the living room look like one from a magazine. That meant cleaning the couch and cushions, putting away all the dirty/clean clothes, and the towels/sheets in the closet. Then, clear off the dining room table (which is almost done, save a few items including some groceries I bought just tonight). Then coffee table (yeah…still lots of stuff on it, but most of it, like my coasters and a tissue box, should be there, but I’ll deal with that. Finally, floor, and vacuum it all up. Then, forget about cleaning the living room for a good long while, or at least until it gets dirty again.

Looking around, I just realized that it actually doesn’t look that much better. It’s 11:00 PM, and by midnight I want to be in bed, so this project might take a little longer than I thought. Oh, and I should probably eat the dinner I made.

In other news, over lunch at the Hubbard Avenue Diner, I realized I forgot to bring a highlighter so I pulled out a Reader’s Digest to thumb through as I ate my delicious spinach-parmesan soup. On page 52 of the edition I was reading (February 2015), there is an article by Alison Caporimo entitled “Scents from Fun Stores.” I usually skip the homemaking section, but maybe I should start reading it more, because the scents actually seemed good to try, inexpensive, and fun to make. The first one on the list was the Yankee Candle scent for a “cozy” atmosphere, and since my apartment is, for what it’s worth, cozy, I decided to give it a try since I had to go grocery shopping anyway. The recipe suggested a quartered orange, cinnamon sticks, cloves, and cranberries. Since cranberries are out of season, I went with dried, but when I went home, plunked all that stuff into some water and boiled it, it smelled divine. I even went out to dance class, and when I came back, even though the building smelled terrible, I opened my door and got hit with a wave of orange-cinnamon yumminess. In fact, while I was writing this, I boiled it some more, and I have an extra jar over the fridge, so maybe I’ll bottle it up and reuse it another time.

I can’t believe I’m saying this, but something from RD actually wasn’t terrible advice. Thanks, RD!

And finally, I don’t normally do this, but my friend Elle asked me nicely to promote her kickstarter, which is here. She’s trying to put together an album, of music I presume. I have not heard her sing, but I have seen her act and dance, and if she is as good a singer as she is actress/dancer, then this will be something to look forward to.

8 thoughts on “Radar Sweep Cleaning and Fruit Compote Potpourri

  1. Brava for the start of your clean-up! And, I am following you already, so I turned off the radar for a moment. 🙂

    I have a sudden craving for a banana ….

  2. That sounds like time well spent to me, the candle scent sounds amazing – mmm mm! I’m one of those people that has to have everything in place and as neat and tidy as possible most of the time but even still, everyone can benefit from a big spring clean out once in a while! I also find that once I start, I can’t stop though…. Good luck with the rest of it!

    • Clean alll the thiiiiings! If you don’t get that, check out Hyperbole and a Half, one of the best blogs out there.

      I used to be a tidy kid; my sister was the sloppy one. Whenever my mother sees my apartment, she goes, “what happened?” As a kid, I refused to go to sleep until my room was immaculately clean. Now, my bedroom is probably the worst, it’s like a clothing/books/papers explosion. I tend to keep the bedroom messy because if company comes, I just close the door and no one’s the wiser.

  3. Your post landed at a good time for me. I am about to reluctantly enter the wonderful world of cleaning out my sewing room. But before I start I am going to the supermarket to buy your Yankee candle stuff….or is that just a delaying tactic for me to avoid the cleaning lol!!!

Leave a Reply

