Go See A Play, Damn You

I’ve been saying “no, no, no, God, God, God, no, no, no,” a lot these days. No, it’s not a new form of morse code or something, but it’s a reaction to the asinine nature of some people. And by some, I mean most, and by most, I mean people I’ve been in contact with.

So there’s this play that I’ve been working on that’s coming up soon. As in, we open on Friday. I’m really proud of everyone, it’s a great show; great script, great cast, everything. So I’ve been recommending it. While I haven’t been ambushing people with tickets, I haven’t shied away from asking if/when people are coming.

And from so many people, I just get the same insipid remarks.

“Will it be on tape?”

“Can I watch it online?”

“Is somebody going to tape it?”

No, no, no, and NO. The answer is NO, damn you. Get out of your house and go see a play. Any goddamn play, it doesn’t have to be mine, just go see any play at all, and then ask me that question again. This is why I love theatre, damn it. It’s live, it’s exciting, and you can’t fast forward through it, you have to be in the moment, there’s that group bonding thing and that whole being social thing and getting out of your comfort zone and into a comfortable seats (and these seats are really plushy and nice and all that). The world does not cater to you, and if it was on tape, it would not be theatre, it would be television, which it is not.

Go see the damn play. Have a fucking amazing time. You’ll thank me later.

Oh, and by the way, who uses tape anymore?

Thanks for reading this rant. I’ve had several five-continent days over the last few, so I’m going to post who visited today in hopes that Africa shows up tomorrow. So, welcome to North America (Canada, USA, and Jamaica), South America (Chile), Europe (UK, Serbia and Ukraine), Asia (Israel, India, Malaysia, Thailand, Hong Kong and Taiwan) and Oceania (Australia and Papua New Guinea).

12 thoughts on “Go See A Play, Damn You

  1. Hey Jacob! Good luck with the play. Unfortunately, you’re too far away or I would have definitely come. I love theater! Break a leg! ❤

    • Thanks, Zareen! From: That’s So Jacob To: jacobh1021@yahoo.com Sent: Thursday, March 12, 2015 3:55 AM Subject: [That’s So Jacob] Comment: “Go See A Play, Damn You” #yiv9648579368 a:hover {color:red;}#yiv9648579368 a {text-decoration:none;color:#0088cc;}#yiv9648579368 a.yiv9648579368primaryactionlink:link, #yiv9648579368 a.yiv9648579368primaryactionlink:visited {background-color:#2585B2;color:#fff;}#yiv9648579368 a.yiv9648579368primaryactionlink:hover, #yiv9648579368 a.yiv9648579368primaryactionlink:active {background-color:#11729E;color:#fff;}#yiv9648579368 WordPress.com | | |

  2. I so agree — I LOVE plays! I’ve been going to plays since I was in elementary school, was in drama club and the International Thespian Society, and now I’m a season ticket holder at The Guthrie Theater. I love the immediacy of a play, of watching humans on stage, pulling us into the story, and knowing just how much work is involved every moment of every performance to do it. Nice post.

Leave a Reply

