The One Hundred Percent Rule

I mentioned this earlier, and filed it in the back of my mind to write about sometime, and since I’ve been feeling stressed and down lately (four shows in a row, and one more tomorrow, and a morning one at that) I figured now would be a good a time as any.

Ever wondered if you should or shouldn’t do something in public that could potentially be grounds for embarrassment or humiliation? Well, now you don’t have to anymore, thanks to The One Hundred Percent Rule, coined by my cousin, as far as I know. The tenets of the rule:

If you need to do something in public, and there is a one hundred percent chance that you will never see one hundred percent of the people in the vicinity for the rest of your life, then go for it.

I first heard it from my cousin on our family trip to Germany. I can’t exactly remember the context, but I think it had something to do with someone in the group (my sister, maybe?) changing clothes or something in the middle of the airport because we only had a few minutes in between our connecting flights. The rule is pretty straightforward, and it solves a lot of issues. Changing your baby’s diaper in a park? Go for it. Picking at your wedgie or your nose in a crowded New York subway station? By all means. Adjusting your bra in a food court at a rest stop on the Ohio Turnpike? I’m right there with you. Well, maybe not that last one.

There are some drawbacks to the rule. For example, there is always the chance that someone will secretly take a video of you and post it YouTube, but the chances of it going viral are slim, and you could probably sue them if you really wanted to.

Not the most thrilling information in the world, but I thought it needed to be put out in the world.

Stay tuned for an update on the last post as well as a few others

13 thoughts on “The One Hundred Percent Rule

  1. As you get older you live by the same rule, it’s just renamed, “I could be dead by three; I’m going for it!” rule. 😉

    Life’s too short. If you’re not hurting anyone, yourself included, live life FULLY! Think of all the fun stories you’ll have to share. 🙂

  2. That rule definitely makes sense! Although I think people who are extra cautious in life would probably still stop short of doing many things, because they wouldn’t be able to convince themselves that they’re really not going to meet 100% of the people around in their life… they’ll probably have a 1% margin of error in their heads, lol. Anyway, thank you for dropping by my blog and following it! Your March 2015 project sounds exciting. 🙂 I’ll be back soon!

Leave a Reply

