Random Thought of the Day: Depression, Cooking, and Cuban Jazz

What do you do when you’re depressed and you have a 6-8 page paper due tomorrow afternoon that you haven’t even started yet?

Naturally, I cook orzo with vegetable while listening to melancholy, Old-World-sounding Latin jazz music with my door wide open to let some of the steam from the stove out, imagining that I’m a middle-aged Cuban lady named Jimena with a giant mole, wearing a stained pinafore and a faded head kerchief, wistfully dreaming of my lover while my laundry dries in the Havana breeze and the chickens cluck in the distance.

And for some reason, that made me a little less sad and a little more inspired – not to start my paper, but to write this post.

Oh well, at least I got a hot, healthy meal out of it.

 

12 thoughts on “Random Thought of the Day: Depression, Cooking, and Cuban Jazz

Leave a Reply

