Mid-April Life Update Post

I am so, so, incredibly tired right now from a busy few days, so I thought I’d just take a moment and do some free writing about how my day, and things in general, have been for me. Sorry if you enjoy my more didactic or literary or multimedia or humor-related posts, but I just need to be real for a moment. K?

So, how has it been for me lately?

Well, fantastic!

Weather-wise, that is.

I don’t have too much to complain about, though, I guess, except for the things I have to complain about. I’m so super nervous about re-mounting the show the week after next; it’s going to mean a lot of early mornings and opportunities to screw something up and make everyone hate me, so that’s no fun. My other classes are going okay, but a lot of questions about the future and the unknown occupy my time so much so that I forget about the here and now, the work that needs to get done and the reading I have to do, which seems to just pile up. In terms of dance, I leveled up in Latin, which was great, but I need to find a permanent partner for the fall if I want to continue competing, and maybe even look for some more outside lessons. Definitely need to exercise more, eat better, yada yada.

In other news, part of my MIA status this week is because I was picked (well, more like volunteered) to be a background dancer in a music video. I can’t say much more than the fact that it happened, that I danced waltz, and that we filmed today from 9 AM to 2 PM. Then, I went to present my paper at the department conference, which went fairly well, and then returned to the video shoot to help them out packing up, because I just didn’t want to go home and sit alone.

The summer and the fall semester are on their way, faster than I think. I still have no concrete plans for the summer, other than Montreal for ATHE and a possible trip home. Fall semester will be my first as a TA (I found out my assignment already, which is great), and of course, the beginning of the end of coursework, paving the way for prelims, pre-dissertation…

I think I’m going to need to invest in a good sturdy life jacket, or maybe just some good sturdy tequila.

7 thoughts on “Mid-April Life Update Post

  1. You are one very dedicated soul! By the way, Congrats to you on your TA assignment. It will be fun to hear about it in greater detail when you can release more info.

    The music video stint was surely exciting! You have to update us later on that too. I understand the confidentiality clause, my daughter’s boyfriend is a gaffer.

    I hope you can carve out time to visit home. Moms and dads miss their kiddos something fierce! My oldest daughter is married and lives in Northern California. It’s been almost a year since I’ve seen them.

    Take care and remind yourself that you’ll do just fine on the show. You’re just a bit panicked, but you’ve worked this before. All will fall in to place.
    ❤️

  2. I actually like reading these posts, they’re one of my favs because it’s good to get to know you and what your life is like, I’m interested. It sounds like you’re juggling quite a lot and this is the age of uncertainty, I can relate! I’m glad that you’re getting to have some fun along the way, at least I’d imagine shooting a music video to be fun… Best wishes ahead and just rely on your sturdy WordPress friends to keep you afloat 😉

Leave a Reply

