I Went Running Today

I sure did.

It’s not that I dislike running; it’s just…who am I kidding, running is for people who like running. Even though I feel inadequate at the gym, it’s even worse when you see someone effortlessly breezing through the air with barely a sheen of sweat on their brow, and then there’s me, stopping to walk every five minutes, which is totally the truth.

I decided I was going to do the Lake Loop, 11 miles around Lake Monona. It started off pretty well, actually. I walked 5 minutes, then ran 5, then walked 5, then ran 5. Then, as I stopped at a water fountain, I checked how far I’d gone…

Barely 2 miles.

This was going to be a long afternoon.

At the water fountain was a guy with two Bichon Frises. We got to talking about running, and he mentioned that he and his wife ran the Madison Marathon. I asked him if he really enjoyed it. His response?

“Well, one day I met this one girl running on the Lake Loop, and I asked to run with her, and we’ve been married 35 years.”

Suddenly the afternoon didn’t seem so long anymore.

I continued my on-and-off run, until Olbrich Park.

3.5 miles.

Oh boy.

And it was getting kinda late. At this rate, I wouldn’t be home until dark, so I turned around and went home, running off and on, getting home just before the rain.

And that’s how I spent two hours this afternoon, not working on my second paper. Whoops. At least I got some exercise.

14 thoughts on “I Went Running Today

  1. The trick, Jacob, is to find something you can do without thinking about the effort you’re putting into it. The running without a sweat people just switch off and let their muscles power through. Best of luck with your new paper.

    • I felt that a few times, towards the beginning, but once I kinda realized just how long a minute was, I was like…yeah, let’s not do this. Challenging myself to run from the start to the finish of a 4 minute song on my iPhone made it more worthwhile though. Maybe a good playlist is the key.

  2. I’m just getting back into running (after doing 4 miles every other day roughly 2 years ago). It takes a long time to build up endurance and speed, so I’d say keep at it but don’t be too ambitious either.

    • Thanks for the good words Sabina. Not looking to become a marathon runner, especially now that the gym is open again, but good to know. There must be a reason why people enjoy running. Personally, I’m a fan of Rebel Wilson’s Fat Amy horizontal running, preferably from my couch.

Leave a Reply

