Das ist So Jacob ist ein Deutsch-Burger

I’ve been keeping this to myself for awhile now – close to a year – but now, I can officially say that as of yesterday…

I AM A DUAL AMERICAN/GERMAN CITIZEN.

It all started last summer.

My grandparents had their German citizenship revoked when they left the country during World War II. Under the current citizenship and naturalization laws of the country, if your grandparents were born in Germany and had their citizenship taken away by the Nazis, you can qualify for German citizenship. So, after much inquiry, while visiting home last summer, my dad, sister and I paid a visit to the German Embassy in Washington to submit our credentials. We had our driver’s licenses, our American passports, our birth certificates, and my grandmother’s kennkarte with the big ANNULLED stamp on it. All we needed was my parents’ marriage certificate (easy enough to get) and my grandparents’ marriage certificate (easier than we thought; it was a matter of the embassy calling Berlin to check the national or regional archives, and sure enough it was there) so the ball got to rolling sometime in October, when that document showed up.

Fast forward to yesterday, when we all got emails from the German Embassy, saying that our naturalization certificates were available for pickup, and that when we get them, we can put in applications for passports. They are going to be holding some sort of ceremony on June 2, but since I won’t be able to be there and they must be handed over in person, I’m going to see if they can send it to the German Consulate in Chicago or the Honorary Consul in Minneapolis so I can get it without having to trek out to DC.

And that’s how I became a naturalized German citizen.

So, a la David Letterman, here is a list of 10 Things That I Can Do Now Because I’m German:

10. I have someone to root for in Eurovision and FIFA.

9. I can have beer whenever I want.

8. I actually have a reason to celebrate Oktoberfest now.

7. I am allowed to laugh at Kate McKinnon’s Angela Merkel impressions on SNL and feel no remorse.

6. I can roll my eyes at Americans.

5. If I get pulled over for speeding, I can say…”Sorry, officer, I’m used to the Autobahn.”

4. I can make up long and funny words.

3. German food.

2. I have expanded my job options, infinitely. Being a German citizen also makes be a citizen of the European Union, which means I can live and work almost anywhere in Europe without a hassle, and travel visa-free.

1. “Don’t shoot, I’m German!”

I guess the next step is to go back and visit again. Well, after I get my certificate and passport. We’ll see. But I guess until then, I’m still the same old That’s So Jacob.

Deutsch-Burger. Tee hee.

36 thoughts on “Das ist So Jacob ist ein Deutsch-Burger

  1. Congrats! That’s pretty cool. It sounded like a very painless process! That’s nice. I am actually eligible to apply for U.S. citizenship (I currently live here with a green card) but I haven’t decided to do it because of all the process and paperwork required. Very annoying.

    • I listened, not too bad of a song! Too bad Ann Sophie went nul points, just my luck 😦 at least the Austrians were probably more embarassed, and at least Israel did reasonably well.

  2. My grandmother was born in Ireland and I applied for my Irish Citizenship a few years ago. I have a passport from the US and Ireland. So cool having duel citizenship! I could apply for Colombian citizenship as well since my dad was born there. The last I checked you had to live there for a few years. I told my husband I am fine with that.

  3. Hi Jacob! Thanks so much for visiting and following my blog – and congrats on becoming a bonafide German! Loved the “Top Ten”, especially the one about German food. I don’t get much of that in Angola! And keep the recipes coming. Burrito Bowls are about my speed 🙂

  4. Very cute, Jacob and congratulations. I have been to Germany quite a bit and it is a beautiful country. Some of my favorite things come from Germany, like chocolate, and beer and cuckoo clocks! I will look forward to reading your blog. Thank you again for visiting mine.

    • Adele: You’re flinginflangen right I am! Thanks for the congrats. Alas, I think I still can’t work legally in the UK without some sort of visa/forms for EU or USA residents. So I guess there’s another citizenship I might have to jump for would I want to settle there. I have yet to visit Britain, other than Heathrow.

      • Ooh I see, I’m sure that a visa wouldn’t be too difficult to obtain, though you might want to have a few trips before that 😀 Do you have any places in particular that you want to visit?

      • Oh gosh, where do I start…London and Liverpool, obviously. The Lake District. The Home Counties. Scotland. Orkney and Shetland Islands. Giant’s Causeway in Northern Ireland. Cambridgeshire (where my friend Claire lives). Anywhere associated with Harry Potter, Peter Pan, Alice in Wonderland, Jane Austen, Charles Dickens, William Shakespeare, G. B. Shaw.

        For a start.

      • Ooh so many. I can vouch for Liverpool and the Lake District, the latter is one of my favourites for a U.K. escape. London is obviously very vibrant with plenty to do, I have heard that the Warner Bros. Harry Potter tour is brilliant but you have to book early! Keep me updated! 🙂

  5. Pingback: Things I Suck At: Two Truths and a Lie | That’s So Jacob

Leave a Reply

