Raw Food and a Raw Deal

So much is going on in the world today, but as for me, I have finally decided to take a tighter hold on my eating habits.

As of 48 hours ago, I have subsisted almost solely on raw food. My only exceptions have been yogurt and peanut butter, because who has time to make those items from scratch unless you live on a farm.

I’ve always been of the opinion that a healthy diet consists of moderation. Protein, carbs, sugars, fats, all in harmony, just never too much of one thing. Carbs are not the enemy; well, not all carbs (hey, maybe that can be the next Facebook/Twitter movement, NotAllCarbs) but the majority – potato chips, white bread, sugar cookies – are just empty calories.

But now, I think it’s become time to purify my system, and maybe this raw food thing is the way to go. So far, my meals have consisted of:

  • Breakfasts: Yogurt and banana (the only fruit with more protein than sugar)
  • Lunches: Egg whites, salmon, tuna and lettuce
  • Snacks: Salad (sigh), chicken soup, post-workout green smoothie
  • Dinners: Chicken, some sort of veggies to pretend to enjoy
  • Drinks: Water, coffee, tea, water with sugar-free lemonade powder

I spent most of my day looking forward to my post-workout smoothie so I could have something sweet in my system. So, as you can see, my life is terribly exciting. Yeah…not so much. In fact, I’m miserable. I feel like I can’t eat anything. How do people live like this for days and months on end? Maybe, just maybe, if I make a list of foods I’m craving here, it’ll help me stop thinking about them all the damn time.

List of foods I miss:

  1. Sushi. (I wonder if I could get away with nigri or sashimi and still be on the wagon)
  2. Chocolate-covered almonds/bridge mix.
  3. Twizzlers.
  4. Frappuccino.
  5. Caramel Macchiato.
  6. Diet Coke.
  7. Cookies.
  8. Popcorn.
  9. Pretzels.
  10. Muffins.

I guess that’s not too bad or long of a list.

Here’s to Day 3, I guess.

But I don’t have the rawest deal of the day.

After Donald Trump’s crazy rant about Mexicans being drug lords and rapists, he’s been losing traction. First, Univision canceled the airing of Miss USA and Miss Universe, which, by the way, is two weeks away. Then, individuals started dropping like flies: judges including former Miss Universe Zuleyka Rivera, the entertainment, the Spanish-language commentators, and Farouk Systems (the hair and makeup stylists). Today, NBC officially announced that they are dropping Miss USA from its airing schedule. So, basically, 51 women who have already traveled varying distances to the pageant (well, I guess Miss Louisiana didn’t have to go too far, given that it’s in Baton Rouge this year) will either a) not get to participate in something they’ve been preparing for for the better part of a year, or b) be denied the privilege of having their non-present family members watching them getting crowned. Either way, it’s most likely that these poor ladies wasted thousands of dollars on travel, gowns, and other preparation-type-things.

Prepare for some epic backlash. Meanwhile, I will prepare some vegetables.

 

8 thoughts on “Raw Food and a Raw Deal

  1. I like your meals, but I am not sure I can eat those everyday even if I have them around. I also like the food stuff you miss except I dunno what Twizzlers are (I’m guessing some kind of candy…too lazy to research he he). Regarding Trump, well, I heard that news here first, actually. Thanks for the update 🙂

    Good luck on your diet! 😀

  2. Check out “Fully Raw” on youtube. She has some great suggestions and tips for satisfying cravings and not feeling like you’re missing out on all the stuff your body thinks it needs (which it actually doesn’t!). I eat a mostly raw diet, have been doing so for months, however the first weeks were a killer! Sugar cravings were nasty. Once I got past all that and my body adjusted to just eating a bowl of raw, chopped veggies for breakfast, I realised I didn’t actually hate the taste of them anymore… It helped in the beginning if I “tricked” myself with mixing in some flavourful things like hummus or mashed avocado to my bowl of cut veggies. Sometimes I even make a soft-boiled egg and put it on top, the runny yolk is a nice addition to the veggies 😉 Anyway, best of luck with it! And remember, it can take up to 60 days to make a new habit stick, your brain needs that much time to adjust (according to Dr. Caroline Leaf). 🙂

  3. Good luck with the new diet! I’m pretty sure you can get away with sushi and sashimi. Lately, I haven’t been eating fancy rolls and just stick to sushi and sashimi, even though I’m not too fond of rice. I’ll also have a side of seaweed salad and I’m good to go.

Leave a Reply

