What Are You Afraid Of?

Today, I realized that there are certain things that I was afraid of when I was younger, that don’t scare me that much anymore, and then some things that used to not bother me, that really get to me now.

Here’s a few of them.

What I’m No Longer Scared Of

  • Showering/changing in public. Yes, I do avoid it when possible, but it’s not such a terrible thing. Growing up, I would always change for gym class in a bathroom stall (as did a few others). I guess I just realized that no one was looking at me. Now, I just sing in the shower at the gym because I can, and who really gives a darn?
  • The dentist. It’s a necessary evil, and dentists can be weird, but it’s temporary and if you’re lucky, you’re good for a year or so.
  • Going to bed late. I don’t know why this used to scare me, but I’d get really uncomfortable if I was awake too late.
  • Toilets that flush automatically. Got used to them.

What Scares Me Now

  • Heights. I was never really a huge fan, but I never had a problem with them. I have noticed lately that I get a little vertigo in high places
  • Riding a bike. Well, that scared me as a kid as well, but when Dan and I went biking on Martha’s Vineyard, I was about to have a heart attack.
  • Being yelled at in public. I used to be able to brush it off, but now it just makes me want to yell back, and make you uncomfortable.
  • Teaching my own classes next week. It’s kind of a mix of nervousness and excitement. I just hope I do well.
10 thoughts on “What Are You Afraid Of?

  1. I have now reached 63 years old, so have few fears left to conquer.
    I am not a fan of being on a boat in rough seas, as I get seasick, and cannot swim.
    Losing my dignity as I get older, that’s something I fear.
    Driving at night is becoming harder, but I don’t really fear it.
    I have Glaucoma, so do fear possible blindness.

    I am no longer scared of spiders, but that was a childhood thing anyway.
    I am no longer afraid of being alone.
    I am no longer afraid to voice outspoken or unpopular opinions.

    It all gets a lot easier, once you turn 60!

    Good luck with the teaching job. I don’t envy that, in the modern age!
    Best wishes from England. Pete.

    • Pete: Good on you. Being not a fan just means knowing what you do and do not like. Dignity is what you make of it. Blindness is a possibility, so give yourself some eye candy every day. Spiders are smaller than us. Being alone can be fun, you can vacuum in the nude! Stating unpopular opinions as long as they’re not harmful is your right as a human. Love and cheese from Wisconsin!

  2. Great post. It’s amazing how our perspective changes as we get get older, I might have to make my own. I’m terrified of heights now, as a kid I was the biggest dare devil out!

Leave a Reply

