A Surprisingly Telling Reading Quiz

Poking around the blogosphere recently, I came across this post by Marina Sofia, AKA Finding Time To Write (ain’t that the truth) and ever since, I’ve thought about taking the quiz like she did.

So here goes.

Do you have a certain place at home for reading?

Bed. Bed is always good. But when the weather’s right, outdoors is great, just about anywhere. The sixth floor patio works fine.

Bookmark or a random piece of paper?

I have three handmade laminated bookmarks made by my friend June from Australia, and several magnetic bookmarks sent to me from Greece. I think I’d be devastated if I lost any of them.

Can you stop reading any time, or do you have to stop in a certain place?

Anytime, really. I like to at least make it to the end of a chapter, but sometimes I don’t have the time.

Do you eat or drink while reading?

Sometimes. I’ve been known to bring books to restaurants when dining alone, and of course, chocolate-covered pretzels, bridge mix, or popcorn are always winners.

Can you read while listening to music/watching TV?

Okay, so here’s the weird answer. Yes and no. I like listening to music and reading, but I’m not the best at doing those things at the same time. I find myself sometimes waiting for commercials, or breaks between songs. To drown out noise, yes to music. But normally, I can focus better in silence.

One book at a time or several at once?

Never just one! Usually a fiction/non-fiction, or a theatre/non-theatre, or a theory/fun book.

Reading out loud or silently in your head?

Umm…out loud in my head? My dad tends to read aloud and it scares me when he just starts blurting stuff out.

Do you read ahead and skip pages?

Generally, no. I did hear of a friend once who always read the ends of mysteries, then the beginning, to see if she could pick up on the clues and figure out the crime like the detective.

 

Break the spine or keep it new?

Keep it new for as long as I can.

 

Do you write in books?

Never!

5 thoughts on “A Surprisingly Telling Reading Quiz

  1. Hi Jacob!
    Enjoyed your answers, and hope you’re having a lovely day! Preferably featuring Golden Girls re-runs, chocolate covered pretzels and/or a really good book 🙂

    I’ve been chosen as one of today’s nine blogs in That’s So Jacob’s Ninth Month Blog Challenge (http://www.thatssojacob.wordpress.com)! I challenge you to find nine blogs you find interesting and give them a comment to brighten their day…well, eight other blogs and mine 🙂 Copy this message in your comment and enjoy your new blog friends!

Leave a Reply

