Classic Song Sunday: “You Can’t Hurry Love”

Another Sunday, another Classic Song. This week, it’s “You Can’t Hurry Love.”

Almost every version of this song is a true winner. In fact, along with “Respect” (which is, ironically, a song that no singer has been able to replicate), it was one of my favorite songs growing up and one of the first songs I actually knew all the words to.

It was written by the Motown team of Holland-Dozier-Holland. The original was performed by the Supremes, and is just the right mix of careful tiptoe phrasing and peppy power plea. I have no idea what the last sentence just meant, but hear it for yourself and you might figure out what I mean.

About 15 years later, a boy version came along courtesy of Phil Collins. It’s not the same as the previous version, but has that slight leather-jacket 1980s feel to it, especially in the wall of sound. It’s not as 80s as the remake of “You Keep Me Hangin’ On,” but that’s a song for another post. I slightly prefer the Supremes’ version to this one, but it has its charms, and transposes it into a key with which I can identify.

Then, for the movie Runaway Bride, “You Can’t Hurry Love,” was remade by the Dixie Chicks in a bit of a country-love remix. I will not tell you my Runaway Bride story, because even though it’s funny in hindsight, it’s still embarrassing, and even more embarrassing because my parents tell it to people all the time. Still, I love the movie, it’s one of my favorites, and having visited the filming locations in Berlin, Maryland puts it in a special place in my heart, along with this really fun and contemporary version of the song. It has some beautiful harmonies in it.

Stay tuned for more Classic Song Sundays, hopefully to become a regular feature!

8 thoughts on “Classic Song Sunday: “You Can’t Hurry Love”

  1. I loved this post! I am a musical nerd, studied voice in college, and was raised on the classics from 1940-1960’s, SO this spoke to my heart. Thanks for sharing! I want to read more song posts! 🙂

Leave a Reply

