Terrible People, Part 4: People Who Don’t Realize How Annoying Their Laugh Is

This week has been extremely busy, so busy that I have barely had time to catch my breath and do something as calm as eat a meal peacefully, without needing to do something else.

For dinner tonight, I decided to try The Tipsy Cow; it’s not new, but I’ve always heard good things about it and wanted to try it, so off I went. The ambiance was great and the cod sandwich and fries were even better. The only thing ruining the night?

huck huck huck huck

HUCK HUCK HUCK HUCK

HUCK HUCK HUCK HUCK

Yuck.

A few tables over was a party of about six, and among them was one girl with the most terrible, invasive laugh. It’s been several hours, and I can still hear HUCK HUCK HUCK HUCK in my brain, reverberating. It’s not her fault, but if your laugh is that loud, just please be aware of those around you and maybe consider getting an inside voice laugh.

10 thoughts on “Terrible People, Part 4: People Who Don’t Realize How Annoying Their Laugh Is

  1. Ha! Have you watched the film, Amelie? There’s this portion where Amelie records the different laughs of those around her. 🙂 Your description brought back that scene to my mind. hehehehe. I have SO been there before with people. Shuck bread over next time! ;-P

  2. We can’t always help how we laugh, and I’m sure there will be someone that finds it charming, but I agree; Laughter or any sort of loud reoccurring noise can feel like it’s invading your own space and enjoyment of an occasion – children crying/screaming gets to me. It has bothered me a bit when I’ve eaten in restaurants that just happen to be accommodating a large excitable party at the same time. They take up space (sometimes requiring tables to be pushed together) and make a lot of noise; Sort of feels like they’ve taken over the area. Obviously there’s nothing wrong with people having a good time, but it can change the feel of the place, which isn’t ideal if you’re trying to have a romantic couple’s night out.

  3. Augh.. There’s a man at work, full grown man, big deep voice, and he LAUGHS after every single thing that either he, or anyone else, says. And his laugh is like the laugh of a YouTube baby being tickled by a kitten…you know that laugh? (Those of you with children probably know it without YouTube, I guess ☺️) Breathless and endless and SO. COMPLETELY. EXCITED. by whatever is going on. It’s kind of cute when babies do it. Full grown man?, in the workplace?, not so much.

Leave a Reply

