Staying In and Getting Real Night, Part 1

What up everyone, it’s your favorite That’s So Jacob. I know I’ve been a little MIA lately, and skimping on the content, but it’s just been a jam-packed few weeks for me, with Theatre Lab, the Minnesota trip, so many observations, and personal and academic struggles galore. On the bright side, I got placed into a 400-level Hebrew class for next semester, got a 95% amazing teaching evaluation, and just made a rigatoni that was approved by the girls across the hall.

So there’s that.

I just thought that I’d take a moment, without making it too personal or livejournal, which I promised never to do here, and welcome you even further into my living room, to come sit on my couch with me and enjoy some night-in therapy.

So, I’m totally exhausted. Teaching, reading, writing, grading, lesson planning, presentating, trying to maintain a good diet, wishing I exercised more often (I haven’t done anything really physical in a week, unless you count dancing for a few minutes at the APO banquet in Minnesota last week), and trying to keep my head above water in both my own personal life and my social life.

The fact is, I just don’t have many friends. 95% of my time is spent alone in my apartment, in which it is way too messy to film a nifty YouTube or Vimeo or something (that, and the fact that I barely have time to write anymore, much less spend hours editing footage of myself that would probably be annoying to begin with). The few friends I do have, I hold really close; so close, in fact, that I don’t know what I would do if some of them ever disappeared from my life. I mean, I have had plenty of people who I love completely disappear from my life through no fault of my own, but as a mostly transient person, having lived no longer than two years in any one place in my entire adult life, it’s exciting but kind of lonely. I’m 28 years old, and I don’t have a group of friends, or a significant other to share my time with. I have people here and there, but I have to make ten times the effort to keep connections strong. So I spend a lot of my time just hanging out with myself, and on here, lurking on all of your blogs, making the occasional comment and trying to maintain my connection with you.

And as far as the rest of my life goes…I just registered for what I believe to be my final semester of coursework. As in, the last one. As in, goodbye school books, hello…whatever the opposite of that is. Maybe reading said school books or something, I don’t know. Kind of scary. Even though I’ve gotten two degrees along the way and I’m inching closer to my third, and hopefully final degree, I still don’t really know exactly what I want to do with it. I’ve thought of going in a completely different direction, like becoming a drama therapist, or entering the priesthood (wait…I’m not Christian…so that won’t work), or even just moving to a completely new place and seeing what I can make of myself there. Either way, I just want to live a happy life, full of good health, adventure, and iced coffee. Not much of a plan, I know, but any thoughts would be appreciated.

I should probably get back to reading, grading, or cleaning up the kitchen now that you’re nicely ensconced on the couch.

If you’re having a night in, come join me.

I made rigatoni.

6 thoughts on “Staying In and Getting Real Night, Part 1

  1. I am a loner myself, I can count my friends on one hand and not use 3 fingers lol , like you I have acquaintances, the kicker part is I live in a small village of just 500 people, and have been here 9 years, I know most everyone, and they all know me, yet I remain very much alone, for me it’s by choice,.

    As for what to do ? well when you are done school perhaps a bit of adventure and testing your mettle ?… have you ever thought of homesteading in Alaska or in the mountains of Montana ? just an idea, or getting yourself a nice houseboat and just going wherever the current takes you?

    I wish I could do that , perhaps someday but I am getting old now lol, I am 48 and a single parent so the above won’t ever happen for me lol

    • 500 people – that’s like my building. Or less than 2x the class I teach. I did take a year off and live in Israel from 2009-2010, and I’ve spent the last 2 summers backpacking around North America. A houseboat sounds awesome but I know absolutely nothing about boats. Thanks for commenting!

  2. Hey Jacob, I somehow stumbled upon your blog and I can totally relate to your life! Teaching can be very exhausting and on my spare time, chilling at home sounds amazeballs! Your blog name ‘thats so jacob’ reminds me so much of the show ‘thats so raven’ ahhah I loved that show when I was younger. Anyhoo, im looking forward to reading more of your post!!

Leave a Reply

