Harry Potter Spells Book Tag

I saw this today on Charlotte Bibliophile’s blog, and I said, “Wow, what a neat idea…I’ll copy it someday…” Well, it’s been a relatively uneventful say, so no day like today, I guess?

Harry Potter Spells Book Tag

Accio – an upcoming release you wish you could get your hands on right now
Girl Waits with Gun, Amy Stewart. All right, so it’s technically out (in hardcover) but the paperback version is not released until May, at which point I’ll probably be buying it. I have way too many books here, but I would bump it up to the very tippy top of the mountain.

Alohomora – a favourite series starter
Map of Bones, James Rollins. Again, another technicality; Sandstorm is technically the first in the Sigma Force series of novels, and Map is the second, but I never got around to reading Sandstorm and I’m already a few books behind, but I’m sure it’s wonderful.

Cheering Charm – a book that gave you the warm fuzzies
Anything Jennifer Weiner. My sister has been lucky enough to see her speak twice. Her books are just kinda all-around feel good.

Aguamenti – a book that made you ugly cry
Angela’s Ashes, Frank McCourt. Not necessarily ugly cry, but I secretly read a few pages of it behind my prayer book during morning prayers in high school and shed a tear or two in the process.

Expecto Patronum – a bookish hero or heroine you want around to protect you in real life
Matilda, from Matilda, Roald Dahl. ZAPPP!

Lumos – a book you intentionally spoiled for yourself
Harry Potter and the Deathly HallowsJ. K. Rowling. I didn’t spoil it completely, but with all the hype, combined with the fact that I wasn’t planning on reading it right away, I knew I couldn’t avoid it forever, so I read partial spoilers but was still surprised by a lot of it.

Imperio – a book you would make everyone read if you could
None, I guess, it would just dilute it and make it less special.

Engorgio – a book series you wish never ended
Mrs. Pollifax, Dorothy Gilman. RIP Dotty G.

Wingardium Leviosa – a book with an uplifting message
Call the Midwife, Jennifer Worth. What’s not to love about these nutty midwives.

Obliviate – a book you wish you could forget you ever read
Wicked Lovely, Melissa Marr. When I was living in Israel, my friend Shoshana gave it to me and swore by it. I finished it, but it was just page after page of paranormal teen fantasy crap.

Anapneo – an author whose books can always get you out of a slump
So, so many…Jennifer Worth, Laura Childs, the Murder She Wrote series…

Jelly-Legs Jinx – a “swoon-worthy” hero or heroine
Not sure on this one. I’m not too into idol worship through books.

Arresto Momentum – a book that caused you to stop doing other things until you finished
Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children, Ransom Riggs. Just read my review…give. me. MORE.

Crucio – a book that was painful to read
Stiff, Mary Roach. Corpses, not my cup of tea.

Rictusempra – a book that had you laughing out loud
Bossypants, Tina Fey. My friend Julie recommended it and I’m glad she did.  All hail Tina Fey.

Expelliarmus – a book that made you want to send it flying
Any book with a pointless death at or near the end. Happened in Harry Potter more than once, and in Bel Canto, by Ann Patchett.

Portus – a book world you wish to visit
Miss Peregrine, again. The cave, the island, a home where children never grow old and are always happy…

Stupify – a book with a shocking twist or ending
The Hundred Secret Senses, Amy Tan. Or Saving Fish from Drowning. Really any Amy Tan book.

Avada Kedavra – a character death that destroyed you
Spoiler alert: Sirius Black in Harry Potter.

Finite Incantatem – best series conclusion
Harry Potter, J.K. Rowling. Same as Charlotte…the last three words say it al.

12 thoughts on “Harry Potter Spells Book Tag

  1. Hi Jacob. I popped over to see you, but unfortunately know nothing about Harry Potter. despite being English, I regard the books to be for children, and have never watched even one of the films. Maybe I’m just too old!
    Best wishes, Pete.

  2. Great list! I love Matilda, watched the film lots of times but only recently finally read the book. I’m being bias by saying its Dahl’s best book! I still need to read Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children, been on my tbr list for a long time.

    • Thuong: I JUST sent away my copy to someone else, otherwise I would have sent it to you for free. Matilda is my favorite Roald Dahl too, but I believe I’ve only read The Witches and both Willy Wonka books.

      • Aw that’s okay! There’s no need to send me a copy, as I’m planning on buying a physical copy from amazon (read it as a ebook). Never read Willy Wonka but I liked the film 🙂

  3. What a list. I watched all the Harry Potter movies, and attempted only once to read the book series. I’m following so many prolific authors, many of whom have a book series. It was reading too much that got my writing stalled, but I’ve decided to sleep less so I can squeeze in some writing and still read. Zzzzz

Leave a Reply

