Don’t Call These Midwives

Amidst all my prelim-reading, and a little bit of a summer cold, I actually finished a book. Totally tired, but I actually finished it. The book was Two for Sorrow by Nicola Upson.

I didn’t find out until about a hundred pages in that it was actually the third in a series about protagonist Josephine Tey, a real-life author and playwright in Victorian England. In this mystery, a local woman is found murdered and brutalized with tools in her clothing design workshop, with the backdrop of Tey writing a story about legendary baby farmers (and also real-life personalities) Amelia Sach and Annie Walters, whose exploits landed them in a double hanging.

The book was enough to keep me reading, but after finishing it, I don’t think I’ll be returning to the series. A reviewer online commented that it seemed that one of the other characters actually solved the mystery, and Josephine was just kind of…there…which I agree with. Plus, she had a lesbian sex scene when she could have been investigating, and actually attacks the murderer after their identity is revealed. However, the clues came at a relatively steady pace, with some good reveals, and it did keep me guessing. I actually was more interested in the long-deceased historical characters than those in the present day, especially when they cursed a bit too much for society ladies and talked about nothing at length.

Well, that was a short book review, despite the book being almost 500 pages. This book review was brought to you by Maybe (I Shouldn’t Have Taken That) Antihistamine.

5 thoughts on “Don’t Call These Midwives

  1. Actually Josephine Tey was quite POST-Victorian, having been born in 1896. Her first book was published in 1929, and she went on writing until her death in 1952. She’s quite a good writer, my faves being The Daughter of Time and A Shilling for Candles.

Leave a Reply

