What I Read in 2016

You’ve been forewarned – even though this is my first post of 2017, it will most likely be on the boring side.

So how are you? I’m doing fine, kind of FOMO right now, since I’m always in the wrong city, state, or country, as the occasion merits. This week in Madison, I’m missing Salsa Saturday, a number of dance classes, as well as a few get-togethers, and for New Year’s Eve, I was sitting at home with my parents rather than at a party in Madison or doing the midnight toast song with brothers who stayed in Pittsburgh. I am, however, enjoying just taking it easy for once after a stressful December (well, more like a stressful November, but a return-to-human December, as well as other household and teaching-related tasks that piled up on me) and trying to recoup and regroup for the coming year. I’m scheduled to fly back to Madison on Sunday, via Atlanta. Hopefully 2017 will be a zen time for me, to make up for the craziness of 2016 – not all bad, but just intense. Part of me is enjoying being lazy (I’ve either slept late or taken an afternoon nap every day this year/week), but another part of me really just wants to get back to Madison and figure out the rest of my life.

Anyway.

2016 was a relatively good year in terms of reading. According to Goodreads, I read 46 books totaling 13,716 pages. My shortest read was 129 pages and my longest was 560. My favorite books of the year were HushThe Phantom Limbs of the Rollow Sisters, and What Was Lost. From my Giant Reading List (approximately 248 fiction and 195 nonfiction/theatre), I read HushA Breath of Fresh AirLife is Not a Fairy TaleSpider Web, and We Are On Our Own. The most interesting stat? I read exactly double the number of books I read in 2015, and slightly more than double the pages, so that’s something.

Right now, I should go and finish a book that I’m about halfway through but want to get rid of tomorrow.

13 thoughts on “What I Read in 2016

  1. Hiya, Jacob! It does seem like you kind of enjoyed the holidays 🙂 And congratulations on your reading milestone. Mine is a “centimeter-stone” compared to yours, HA HA HAAA!!!

    Anyway, just want to let you know I linked to our blog in my December recap post. Keep on bloggin’!!!

  2. Oh I do love to read! I find that during term my reading is low as I am too tired to read much at night. It puts me to sleep! But in the holidays I try and read to.my hearts content!
    I’ve signed up to the Good reads reading challenge but kept my goal realistic!!!!

  3. Jacob, I want to let you know that you never need to call a post about the books you read “boring”! To us book lovers, this is one of the most exciting posts of all, even if it’s a list. The fact that you doubled your reading from 2015 is downright fabulous!

Leave a Reply

