Flip the Script Friday: Oleg Bogaev, The Russian National Postal Service

Friday the 13th…spooky, but most of all cold. I think I can count on one hand the amount of minutes I spent outdoors today. At least it’s supposed to get up to 30 tomorrow. Since I’ve got a long weekend ahead of me, and I hope to fill it with reading. As for today’s play, I went online a few days ago to look up something about something for something research related…and ended up stumbling across a trove of Russian plays translated into English, courtesy of the Center for International Theater Development. One of them was I Am Me by Alexandra Chichkanova, which I saw done as a lovely site-specific traveling performance around campus by an alumna of my program. I skimmed through almost all of them, and this one sounded the most interesting and unusual: The Russian National Postal Service  by Oleg Bogaev.

Image result for the russian national postal service

Studio Theatre Production, 2004. http://www.michaelgiannitti.com

 

The Basics

The Russian National Postal Service: A Room of Laughter for a Lonely Pensioner, by Oleg Bogaev and translated by John Freedman. This English translation was first performed at The Studio Theatre, Washington, DC, USA in 2004. The play had its world premiere in Russian at Tabakov Theater in Moscow in 1998.

Characters:

  • Ivan Sidorovich Zhukov
  • Queen Elizabeth II of England
  • Vladimir Ilyich Lenin
  • Lyubov Orlova – a Russian film star
  • Other characters from Russian history and world literature

Setting/Plot

Interior of Ivan’s apartment.

3 thoughts on “Flip the Script Friday: Oleg Bogaev, The Russian National Postal Service

Leave a Reply

