Here We Go Loop-de-Loop…

As I mentioned in my last entry, I finished reading Hollow City by Ransom Riggs yesterday afternoon in Colectivo Coffee on State Street.

I read its predecessor, the fabulous Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children, a few years ago, so I was nervous that I’d need to put the book down to go back and reread the first one, but as soon as I started it, I immediately got right back into the story where I’d left off, with Jacob and crew on the sea. Not to spoil too much of the story – like my calendar did – let me just say that it is a spectacular adventure, even more exciting than the first book. I could hardly put it down. Although no great distance in traveled in this book, but the characters’ hops backwards and forwards through history is just as fun and fascinating. Some of the characters who sat on the sidelines in the first book get some more attention, most notably Horace, Hugh, and Enoch. We also get to meet a plethora of new characters, peculiar and not, from Addison the talking dog to Althea the ice girl, and travel to some new and exciting loops. The place where they ended up was exactly the place in time I thought they were going.

This book review was brought to you by Martin Luther King, Jr. Yes, Mississippi, there are plenty of Great Americans, but it’s not like we get a day off for Barbra Streisand’s birthday.

Leave a Reply

