The Ballad of the Salad

It’s been four days now since the start of my latest attempt to get myself healthier. I don’t know if it’s working, but I’ve exercised every day, and I can count on one hand how many non-essential carbs I’ve had (a free sample of cake at the supermarket and a slice of banana bread before teaching my first class yesterday). Breakfast has been eggs, yogurt, fruit, and oatmeal in some order; midday foods have been tuna lettuce wraps, chicken, whole grain pasta, and salads; and dinners have been soups and salads.

I think I’ve eaten more salad in the last few days than I have in a year.

I mean…when there are all these wonderful foods in the world, who wants a boring old salad? Nothing like a hot, steaming salad.

But I’ve been attempting to jazz up my salads by adding some fun and healthy items to them. Tonight’s salad was lettuce, a quarter of an onion and half a cucumber (sliced with my Sharper Image veggie slicer), sun-dried tomatoes, and topped with pepper, olive oil, and some red wine vinegar for flavor, just like my grandmother used to make.

So, readers…how do you make your salads more pleasing to your palate?

Any suggestions considered.

8 thoughts on “The Ballad of the Salad

  1. I usually go with fruit (dried cranberries and Mandarin oranges are good), nuts (walnuts, almonds), and meat (grilled chicken is perfect). Helps the lettuce, tomato, and cucumber go down.

    • Good ideas. I’m worried about the extra sugar added in dried fruit though, and usually if I’m eating fish/chicken with the meal, seems kind of pointless to have the same things on a salad at the same time.

  2. For me it’s a mindset thing. Ask the question, what is the basic purpose of food? If the answer is to please or entertain then some rethinking might be in order. Also, if your vehicle’s gas tank is nearing empty how far would you drive to find a particular brand of gasoline? Food as fuel rather than as a reward or source of pleasure. Put the fuel in the tank that is best for the engine and find pleasure in other things instead.

    • Heh. Funny you should ask about the gasoline…I was warned once that name brands are better by a friend of mine who got no-name gas and it left her stranded because it was not good quality.

  3. I love salad but my staple is lettuce with a sliced English apple and a few raisins. I add feta cheese when I can and of course (or maybe unfortunately) some light Strawberry/Raspberry or Mango dressing by Kraft. Good luck with your intention to eat healthy – you can do this! 🙂

Leave a Reply

