How I Invented the Movie

A few hours ago, I was all set to get out of my apartment and go down to State Street for some coffee, a reward, and reading time at Starbucks or Colectivo or something. A minute before I head out the door, I get a Facebook notification that there’s a get together going on at Five Guys. So, I go…read, or socialize? 

Backpack with books in tow, I head out and end up at Five Guys. It ends up being three tables pushed together full of people, and I get convinced to eat some fries. Then, we head over to Blue Velvet for martinis, because there’s a birthday in the group. So, I ask myself…read, or drink?

Then we’re at Blue Velvet, a bar I’ve never been to but is actually pretty chic. People see to be having fun, and so am I. I get suckered into buying and drinking a “Mother Pucker” sour apple-watermelon martini. And it’s delicious. But, eventually, I realize that I’m in a bar, with a backpack of books, and I haven’t read much of anything today, so I pay for my drink and head over to Colectivo for coffee, a croissant, and some reading time before they close at 10 and SNL starts at 10:30.

As I’m reading, I think to myself…what if there was, like a bar where it was socially acceptable to read? Then, I thought, how about a bar where reading is required? Like, the pages of the book are under panes of glass upon which you rest your drink, then press a button to turn the page. But then, I think wait, that wouldn’t be very social. But what if everyone was reading the same book? And what if it was on a giant screen in front of them? And they could watch it together, and it could have pictures?

And that’s how I came up with the movie.

4 thoughts on “How I Invented the Movie

Leave a Reply

