I Didn’t Choose The Teacher Life…

Ten minutes to midnight on a Monday, and as I am composing this lovely blog post, I am also simultaneously…

  • Wearing jeans, a sweater, and a scarf
  • Sitting among several piles of paper and books
  • Furiously chewing about five pieces of Extra bubble gum
  • Photocopying several activity sheets for class with the kids tomorrow
  • Cutting up said sheets
  • Pressing down the paper on one sheet that got bent in my backpack
  • Preparing to do laundry
  • Listening to Justin Timberlake on my iPhone
  • While watching The Golden Girls with the sound muted.

I didn’t choose the teacher life, the teacher life chose me.

Hashtag, teacherlife.

3 thoughts on “I Didn’t Choose The Teacher Life…

  1. My wife taught her entire career in a gang infested inner city school, sort of a combination “Welcome Back Kotter” and “Blackboard Jungle”, without the humor. Over the years she turned down many opportunities to transfer to a safe suburban school and only in retrospect do I begin to understand the dedication that kept her going back every day. Kudos to you and to all the other teachers out there. You are truly unsung heroes.

  2. Too true. I hope your morning is fueled by the power of some excellent coffee. And may your students excuses be minimal.

Leave a Reply

